Mushing History Timeline

A key feature of is this timeline. We will continue to add to this as time goes on to make it a comprehensive timeline of our sport’s history. 

If you would like to have something added to the timeline please reach out to us on our socials or by email at

  • 2008 - Mackey Wins Quest and Iditarod

    Lance Mackey becomes the first musher to win both the Yukon Quest and the Iditarod in the same year, a feat he repeats in 2009.

  • 1908 - All-Alaska Sweepstakes

    The first All-Alaska Sweepstakes race is held, establishing the first major dog sled race in Alaska.

  • 2011 - Dallas Seavey: Youngest to win Iditarod

    Dallas Seavey becomes the youngest musher to win the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race at the age of 25.

  • 1925 - Serum Run

    The “Great Race of Mercy” takes place, where dog teams deliver diphtheria serum to Nome, Alaska, saving countless lives.

  • 1909 - Amundsen reach South Pole

    Roald Amundsen and his team of sled dogs are the first to reach the South Pole, using dog sleds for transportation.

  • 1932 - Sled Dog in the Olympics

    The first Winter Olympics held in Lake Placid, New York, includes a demonstration event for dog sled racing.

  • 1942 - Alaka Territorial Guard

    The Alaskan Territorial Guard, comprised mainly of dog mushers, is formed during World War II to protect Alaska from potential Japanese invasion.

  • 1984 - First Yukon Quest

    The Yukon Quest International Sled Dog Race is inaugurated, becoming one of the toughest long-distance races between Alaska and Canada’s Yukon Territory.

  • 1973 - First Iditarod

    The Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race first ran to Nome in 1973.

  • 1985 - Susan Butcher Wins the Iditarod

    Susan Butcher became the second woman to win the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race and went on to win the race four times.