IPSSSDR Fills Roster with 25 Teams Including Distance Mushing Champs

Wyoming sled dog race closes registration and begins wait list The International Pedigree Stage Stop Sled Dog Race (IPSSSDR) has filled its roster with 25 teams registered for the upcoming January 28 – February 5, 2011, event, announced Race Director Frank Teasley. Registration for the event is now closed and interested teams will be placed on a waiting list.img::DSC_3336.jpg::350 “The interest in this year’s race has been phenomenal,” says Teasley, who increased the field from 20 to 25 teams to accommodate the registration demand. “The Wyoming race has developed a reputation in the mushing world because of our purse, the unique race route through Wyoming, and the dog friendly format.” The IPSSSDR is a stage race, similar to the Tour de France, allowing teams to rest each night and earning the race the nickname “the dog-friendly race.” In addition, the stages are run through Wyoming communities before the Park City, Utah finish, providing easy access to spectators, media, and the teams’ handlers who wait for them at the end of each stage.img::DSC_3606.jpg::350img::DSC_3661.jpg::350 The 2011 race is attracting additional interest because of the roundup of mushing superstars signed up for this year’s event. The reigning champions of distance mushing, Lance Mackey and Hans Gatt, are slated to compete. Mackey, who twice won the Yukon Quest and Iditarod in the same year, told the Alaska Daily News that he is done competing back-to-back in mushing’s premiere distance events. In 2011, instead of racing the Yukon Quest, Mackey will head to Wyoming with his Jamaican mushing student/partner, Newton Marshall, to participate in the 500-mile stage stop race before returning to Alaska for Iditarod. Gatt, who has previously won the IPSSSDR four times – in 1997, 1998, 2000 and 2001 – also has registered for the 2011 IPSSSDR. Gatt won the Yukon Quest four times and was 2010 Iditarod runner-up. The 2011 IPSSSDR will be his first time competing in the race since 2001. Other champion mushers expected to compete in the 2011 IPSSSDR are Iditarod veteran Ryan Reddington and Fur Rondy Sprint Champion Blayne “Bud” Streeper. Streeper won the IPSSSDR in 2004 and 2010. Pedigree® Food for Dogs is the title sponsor of the IPSSSDR. The Pedigree® brand actively supports a wide range of programs that promote responsible pet ownership and highlight the contributions dogs make to society. The International Pedigree Stage Stop Sled Dog Race was founded in 1996 by Frank Teasley to make sled dog racing more accessible to the public. For more information, visit the race website at www.wyomingstagestop.org; contact the race via e-mail at bark@wyomingstagestop.org; or telephone at 307.734.1163. Media Contact: Darla Worden, WordenGroup Strategic Public Relations, darla@wordenpr.com, 307.734.5335 2011 Roster, International Pedigree Stage Stop Sled Dog Race 1. JR Anderson, MN2. Stacey Teasley, WY3. Dennis Laboda, MN4. Aaron Peck, AB, Canada5. Jerry Bath, WY6. Kate St. Onge, UT7. Hans Gatt, YT, Canada8. Ryan Redington, AK9. Bruce Magnusson, MI10. Blayne Streeper, BC, Canada11. Lena Glad, BC, Canada12. Matt Rossi, WI13. Lloyd Gilbertson, MI14. Mary Gilbertson, MI15. Sam Perrino, BC, Canada16. Aaron Peck #2, AB, Canada17. Lance Mackey, AK18. Newton Marshall, Jamaica19. Aaron Burmeister, AK20. Charlotte Mooney, MT 21. Bill Pinkham, CO22. Grant Beck, NT, Canada23. Dawn Breedlove, WI24. Keith Peppler, ON, Canada25. Sylvain Robillard, QC, Canada


More Posts